FILE – Stanley Pringle, left, and Japeth Aguilar during the 2019 PBA Governors’ Cup Finals against Meralco. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

MANILA, Philippines — Stanley Pringle and Japeth Aguilar put the icing on the cake in their Philippine Cup title campaign after the Barangay Ginebra teammates were named into the league’s Elite Five team.

Pringle led the Elite Five that included Aguilar, Phoenix’ Matthew Wright and Calvin Abueva, and TNT’s Poy Erram.


Along with being named as one of the best guards in the bubble, Pringle was also named the Best Player of the Conference.

Pringle and Aguilar were instrumental in leading the Gin Kings to their first Philippine Cup—a title that’s eluded them for 13 years.


Abueva and Wright, meanwhile, led the Fuel Masters to a semifinal finish in the Philippine Cup only to fall to Erram’s Tropang Giga.

The five players beat out NLEX’s backcourt of Kevin Alas and Kiefer Ravena, TNT’s Jayson Castro, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., and RR Pogoy, Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, Meralco’s Chris Newsome, Magnolia’s Paul Lee, and Terrafirma’s CJ Perez for the guards.

The other frontcourt nominees for the Elite 5 were San Miguel’s Arwind Santos and Moala Tautuaa, Alaska’s Vic Manuel, Phoenix’ Jason Perkins, Magnolia’s Ian Sangalang, and NorthPort’s Christian Standhardinger.

Read Next


<!– Please implement on Entertainment only, remove the twitter handle after the byline in #byline_share

Follow @FMangosingINQ on Twitter


Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.